Cosmetic Surgery Foundation

Cosmetic Surgery Foundation


About the Foundation

Formed in 2000, the Cosmetic Surgery Foundation (CSF) serves as the research and education arm of AACS and is committed to the advancement of the science of cosmetic surgery and the enhancement of patient safety and trust.



Our Mission

The Cosmetic Surgery Foundation is the first and only organization to represent the interests of cosmetic surgery. The Foundation maintains a steadfast commitment to the advancement of the science of cosmetic surgery and the enhancement of patient safety and trust.


Achieving Our Mission

The CSF achieves these goals through our funding of research, educational programming, and other training initiatives, to expand our knowledge base and elevate awareness within the cosmetic surgery community and the public at large. To date, the Foundation has awarded over $1 million in research and educational grants. Perhaps most importantly, the fruits of these labors – including Dr. Jeffrey Klein’s ground-breaking development of tumescent liposuction – have made significant impacts to physicians practicing cosmetic surgery and their patients across the globe.


Supporting the Foundation

It is only through the generous support of corporate partners and individuals that we can continue on our path to success. There are many ways to give and support the CSF and our efforts – each offering tax-deductible benefits:

Annual Giving

The Annual Giving fund is an ongoing campaign created to support the Foundation.

Planned Giving – The Legacy Society

Physicians, their families, friends and patients who have benefited from their years in practice and fellowship with the Foundation and the AACS can combine their charitable giving goals with their estate and financial planning goals through the Legacy Society. Donors may leave a legacy of support by making a planned gift to the Foundation in their name. For more information, please email

Webster Level Donation

Join the Cosmetic Surgery Foundation's Webster Society. Make a recurring, tax-deductible, gift today and be invited to our Annual Webster Society Annual Donor Gala Event at the Annual Meeting. To date, the Foundation has given over $1,500,000 in grants and awards to individuals and education activities of the AACS.

Online donations are quick and easy using our secure credit card transactions. We welcome donations of all sizes and payment plans – whether it's a one-time gift, a monthly contribution or part of a matching gifts program.

Corporate Support Program

Get involved with AACS/CSF educational programs, research initiatives and other vital programs that support the specialty of cosmetic surgery through our Corporate Support Program. You’ll reach and support AACS audiences of more than 2,500 cosmetic surgeons and cosmetic surgery professionals.


Call for Research Grants

The CSF is pleased to encourage and support consistent, innovative and aggressive research in the multidisciplinary specialty of cosmetic surgery. Since 2006, the Foundation has been awarding grants to eligible surgeons that wish to impact the science through original research.

The submission deadline for 2020 grant applications is September 1.
Learn more and submit.


Foundation Leadership

2020-2021 Cosmetic Surgery Foundation Board of Directors

J. Kevin Duplechain, MD

Vice President
Sheila Barbarino, MD, FAAO, FAACS, FACS 

Edward Zimmerman, MD

Alex Sobel, DO

Immediate Past President
Irene Gladstein, MD

2019 Past President
Wm. Philip Werschler, MD, FAAD, FAACS

Roxana F. Barad, DO
Robert Jackson, MD
Ryan Diepenbrock, DDS, FAACS

Did you know?

Members who donate $5,000 annually to the CSF may name a research grant to be presented at the AACS Annual Scientific Meeting. Contact for more information on donating to the CSF.