News & Press: Academy News

2019 Annual Scientific Meeting Keynote Speaker: Barbara McAneny, MD, FASCO, MACP

Monday, July 9, 2018  
Share |

Barbara L. McAneny, MD, FASCO, MACP
American Medical Association

Barbara L. McAneny, MD, a renowned oncologist from Albuquerque, New Mexico, will be a featured keynote speaker at the 2019 Annual Scientific Meeting, January 31-February 1, in Orlando, Florida. Dr. McAneny is the President of the American Medical Association. A highly respected leader in her home state and nationally, Dr. McAneny is a practicing physician, successful businesswoman, and co-founder and CEO of a multi-disciplinary oncology practice, New Mexico Oncology Hematology Consultants Ltd. She also built and manages the New Mexico Cancer Center, which provides comprehensive outpatient medical and radiation oncology care and imaging in underserved communities across New Mexico.

Dr. McAneny has served as an AMA Board member since 2010, including Board Chair from 2015 to 2016. Her leadership in organized medicine also includes board chair of the National Cancer Care Alliance, a group she founded to help independent oncology practices compete by sharing resources and best practices.

She previously served on the board of American Society of Clinical Oncology as president of the New Mexico Medical Society, and the Greater Albuquerque Medical Association.

A Minnesota native and decorated graduate of the University of Minnesota and the University of Iowa College of Medicine, Dr. McAneny has been honored with numerous state and national awards. She received a nearly $20 million innovation grant from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services in 2012 to test how oncology private practices could provide cancer patients with better care at lower costs.

She received a New Mexico Woman on the Move Award in 2005, Woman of Influence Award in 2009, and has been voted multiple times by her peers as Albuquerque The Magazine’s “Top Doc” in her specialty.

Join Barbra McAneny, MD, FASCO, MACP, for her keynote presentation.
Register for the 2019 Annual Scientific Meeting today!